Fetterhoff Chapel origins date back to 1802 when the first United Brethren services were held in the log home of George and Katherine Fetterhoff and were conducted in German. The early ministers were circuit riders who traveled by horseback to preach throughout the Cumberland region.
As the congregation grew, a log church was built in 1834 and later hosted two Pennsylvania Annual Conferences. In 1856, a brick church replaced the log structure. The present church was built in 1899 and an education wing was added in 1964. In 1968, a merger between the Evangelical United Brethren and the Methodist denominations led to the present Fetterhoff Chapel United Methodist Church.
Each United Methodist Church is unique, yet is a part of a connection through a larger “family” of the denomination. Our church extends way beyond our doorstep; it is a global Church with both local and international presence. With the partnership of God and one another, our mission continues.
Fetterhoff Chapel United Methodist Church (UMC) and her sister church, Mt. Union UMC are under one charge of the Susquehanna Conference of the United Methodist Church served by one pastor. Mt. Union UMC is located at 8082 Lincoln Way East in Fayetteville, PA. The two churches work closely together in missions and special events.
Susquehanna Conference website